The Minister of Finance just announced tax relief measures in connection with COVID19.

Please find the highlights below.

Extension of payment

  • Extension of payment of all monthly taxes for a period of 3 months (April, May, June) without penalties. However, tax returns do need to be filed!
  • Companies with activities related to tourism are excluded of payment of the employers premium part of AOV/AWW and AZV. A payroll summary needs to be provided in order to be able to apply.
    • Companies mentioned to be able to apply for this exclusion are: casino’s, transport and tour companies, security, café/bar/restaurants, landscaping, spa, car rental, travel agents, watersports, carwash, laundry, perfumeries, jewelers, clothing and shoe stores, souvenirs, ground handlers, employment agencies and construction companies.

Extension of payment and filing

  • Extension up until November 30, 2020 is provided for the filing and payment of the 2019 profit tax returns of companies, with exception of financial institutions.

Extention of payment

  • Extension of 3 months (April, May, June) is provided on all current payment arrangements made with the Departamento di Impuesto.

Calculated Interest and penalties

  • There will be no interest accumulated in connection with outstanding amounts.
  • No penalties will be imposed for late or partial payment of amounts due.

Flexibel Payment Regulations

  • 24 month’s for individuals with a minimum of AWG 100 per month
  • 24 month’s for companies with a minimum of AWG 500 per month
  • 36 month’s for penshionado’s with a minimum of AWG 75 per month

Flexibel Regulations with regards to old debts:

  • Outstanding amounts dated before December 31, 2010 75% discount
  • Outstanding amounts dated between January 1 and December 31 2014, 50% discount
  • Outstanding amounts dated between January 1 and December 31 2016, 30% discount
  • Outstanding amounts dated between January 1 and December 31, 2019, 10% discount

Special Tariff (10%)

  • Aruban residents who receive a payment of dividend in 2020 from their company outside of Aruba will now be taxed with 10% income tax instead of the normal 25% income tax rate / repatriating money from abroad.

Flexibility and Information

  • Introduction of a voluntary disclosure (“inkeerregeling”) for tax payers that have not declared tax income in the past, to be able to do so now without any penalties being imposed.
  • More flexibility with regards to situations in which a lean was imposed by the Aruba Tax Authorities.
  • More flexibility with regards to Tax Audits.
  • Online Service with regards to Tax Returns and Payments.
  • Transparent Information via media and social media.

As soon as we have detailed information, we will inform you accordingly.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us. We are here to help, also in difficult times.

NAME

E-MAIL

Andrea Bruyning

andrea.bruyning@catc-hcc.com

Damia Croes-Arends

damia.arends@catc-hcc.com

Geert Weber

geert.weber@catc-hcc.com

Hannah Wever

hannah.wever@catc-hcc.com

Jordann Bruyning

jordann.bruyning@catc-hcc.com

Joseph Loaiza

joseph.loaiza@catc-hcc.com

Kiala Kock

kiala.kock@catc-hcc.com

Mireille de Miranda

mireille.demiranda@catc-hcc.com

Rehu Klatt

rehu.klatt@catc-hcc.com

Reint Roossien

reint.roossien@catc-hcc.com

Robin Roossien

robin.roossien@catc-hcc.com

Yandry Novoa

yandry.novoa@catc-hcc.com

#CATCHCC #NEWSFLASH #Aruba #TaxRelief #Accounting #Advisory #Audit #Compliance #CorporateFinance #Payroll #TaxLegal #Bonaire #Curacao #StMaarten